top of page

Dinner at Lucha Loco, Singapore

For a little reunion dinner with two of my best friends, my friend suggested we go to Lucha Loco in Duxton Hill, for some Mexican food. Considered one of the top places to go for Mexican in Singapore, I was definitely up for it. It's a taqueria and garden bar, and dishes served are Mexican street food.

We started our dinner with their Fresh Corn Chips with Tomato Salsa and Guacamole. Very straightforward, it was nice to dip our chips in the guacamole and salsa, whilst we were waiting for our other dishes to arrive.

My one friend (who brough us here) insisted on getting the Elotes - Mexican Street Style Grilled Corn with Mayo, Chili & Cotija Cheese. She had tried it before and said it was really good. We just ordered one, since I only wanted to try. I had quite high expectations, since she couldn't stop raving about it, but when I tried, I was disappointed. It was lacking flavor and definitely needed some extra salt. I also expected a more cheesy flavor. My friend was also not too happy, since she remembered it to be much better and on this day it just didn't seem to be the same. Drop in standard?

Always loving fish, I was extremely excited to get this. This was the Mango & Snapper Ceviche. This definitely hit the spot, it was nicely seasoned with enough lime coming through. The snapper was very fresh and the sweet mango complemented it perfectly. Probably one of my favorite dishes of the night.

We obviously had to go for some tacos, since they were known for them. We decided to try the Pork Belly Taco with Jicama & Cilantro Mayo. The pork belly was cooked to perfection, being nice and soft and it was very enjoyable. I think I would've preferred a more smoky or sweet sauce to go along with it, although the cilantro mayo was quite nice. I think it needed a little more punch.

My other friend wasn't that hungry and only wanted to order a taco for herself (my foodie friend and I shared all the other dishes). She got the Beef Taco with Grilled Pineapple & Pico de Gallo. Even though this was the only dish she ordered, she wasn't very hungry and I finished this too. The beef was nice and tender and I love the pickled tomatoes that went with it. Needed some sauce though.

We ordered the Chiles Rellenos - Poblano Chilli Stuffed with Zuchini, Beans, Corn, Mushrooms & Pumpkin Sauce. This dish was exquisite. I had never tried this before and it's description seemed interesting. Also I had read other reviewers saying that this is really good, so we decided to see for ourself. The poblano chilli, was slowcooked until it was extremely soft and together with the velvet pumpkin sauce, it was extremely comforting. A must order!

We were very full already, but I never say no to dessert. We were contemplating what to order, since none of us had a lot of space left. The cinnamon chocolate mousse sounded interesting, but heavy. Also the blue corn cake was something that I hadn't tried before, but my friend said it wasn't that good. So we were left with the last option; Salted Caramel and Corn Ice Cream Topped with Caramel Popcorn. Very unassuming, this pleasantly surprised us. Very satisfying and a great way to end a long overdue catch-up session with two of my closest childhood friends.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page