top of page

Parkheuvel**, Rotterdam

I've been to Parkheuvel once before, when my mum came to visit about 1.5 years ago, our visit was very memorable and we loved the food. So when I stumbled across a promotion to go for dinner, I immediately took it. The thing was, however, that nobody was free to go with me. Not wanting to pass up on this chance and the great food, I decided that it'd be worth it to go by Fmyself. So there I was sitting by myself at a table overlooking the Maas.

First to arrive on the table for a number of amuses. [clockwise from the top left] Cheese cracker, Iberico Ham amuse, Vitello Tonnato, Tomato Sponge, Tosti with Truffle Mayonnaise. I loved how there were so many little bites, with such differing flavors. I was told to eat the tosti first, as it was still warm. This, I considered, also the nicest of all the little bites. The bread was warm and crisp and the truffle came through nicely. The cheese cracker and the tomato sponge left me unimpressed as they somewhat lacked taste. Whilst the vittello tonnato and iberico ham bite packed more of a flavor punch.

After the amuses, a pre-starter arrived. This considered of a Oyster served in shell with Yogurt and frozen Cucumber. This was very refreshing and a nice way to clean the palate before starting the meal.

The first course was Westland Tomato - various preparations of Westland Tomato with Stellendamse Shrimp and Basil. When I first saw this plate it felt like it didn't belong. It just doesn't fit in with the style here at Parkheuvel. There were too many small elements spread out over a large surface and I wasn't too sure where to start. Those tiny shrimp also didn't have much taste and the only thing I really enjoyed was the little sphere of tomato, which really packed a punch. After finishing, it just left me wanting more.

Luckily, the second course made up for the disappointment from the first. It was Baby Sole poached in a light fishcreme, accompanied by Peas, Pea Puree enriched with Tarragon and Lemon under a bed of 'rice'. Like I mentioned in my previous post, Eric van Loo knows sauces, this was no different. That fishcreme that was poured over the fish was rich and full of flavor. I thought it was interesting how they incoporated the new vegetable pasta trend and served the fish with a "spaghetti" made out of peas. When I read rice on the menu, I was scared that it would literally be rice, but it turned out to be a very tiny sheet made out of, what I suspect to be, rice flour. The fish was also perfectly poached.

I opted to get the supplementary course, which I had on my last visit, Ravioli of Black Bresse Chicken with a Pan-fried Langoustine. Having loved it the first time, I couldn't pass up on it. It might be that I hyped it up a lot after my last visit, but this time I was left slightly disappointed as I found the pasta to be too thick and somewhat chewy. The last time it was much thinner and perfectly al dente. The other components of the dish were on point, just like they were previously, so it was still a very enjoyable dish.

The next course was supposed to be a meat course, but as per usual I exchanged this for another fish course. There was a mistake made as they first served me turbot (which was correct), but with the same accompaniements as my sole dish. So basically it was the same dish, just a different fish. I pointed this out when it arrived and they immediately took it back. After another 15 minute wait this piece of art appeared. Pan-fried Turbot with Yellow Beets and Green Asparagus with a Chantarelle Sauce. This dish was beautiful and probably one of my favorite dishes of the night. Look at the crispness of the fish and the colorful vegetables. I thought it was very suiting as a summer-going-into-autumn dish. The summer beets added a nice sweetness to the earthiness of the chantarelle sauce. This sauce was also to die for, if my mum would've been here she would've drunk the entire sauce from the little sauce jar. Just beauty on a plate.

My main course, again fish instead of the original venison, was a slightly adapted version of my main course on my last visit. John Dory spiked with Laurel Leaf, accompanied by Octopus and Squid with a Licorice Jus. I loved the fish and it was perfectly cooked. I felt that the dish could've used a little more, such as the ratatouille that it came with the first time round, as it was very bare. It was tasty, but the licorice jus was a bit overpowering. So I immediately moved the fish to the other side of the plate and avoided the jus. Silly, I know, but it just numbed my palate.

Not really enjoying figs, I asked if I could have a different dessert. So as a replacement I got this red beauty; Strawberry - Lambada Strawberries in various preparations with an Almond Ice Cream. The waiter told me that he thought it was suitable as it matched my red dress, how sweet. This was amazing. Inside the little pink ball there was, what I suspect, a Strawberry Charlotte, which was delicious. Also, that ice cream, was just incredible. I was so in awe of this dessert, that after finishing I actually asked if I could have a second dessert. Just because I thought their patissier was amazing and was very curious to see what else he had in store. They said it was no problem, so after a short wait my second dessert came.

This dessert had Peaches as the star consisted of two components. The first was Various Preparations of Peaches with Pistachio Cream. I love anything pistachio, so this was right up my alley. There was some yogurt on the plate as well as a very thinly sliced peach, peach mousse, peach compote and some meringues. It was delicious and I definitely didn't regret going for a second dessert.

The second component of the dish was a Honey and Thyme Ice Cream served in the Peach Liquid. It was so refreshing and the sweet subtle taste of the peach paired amazingly with the honey and thyme ice cream. After this dessert I couldn't stop smiling, I was in a serious food coma. I think their patisserie chef is amazing. Always being most critical of desserts (since it's the last thing that the chef leaves you with and is the closing of the meal), I was in awe.

With my sweet tooth, I was not going to pass up on the friandises that come with the coffee and tea as well as their exquisite valhrona chocolates. The friandises presented were: Blackberry Macaron, Caramel Fudge, Turkish Delight, Brownie with Pistachio Cream and a Financier with Lemon Curd. These were delightful little sweets which went perfectly with my fresh mint tea. I also chose some truffles, which included one with a Banana filling and a Praline filling. Although it was incredibly awkward coming and sitting alone (they even gave me magazines to look through), since I had nobody to talk to and would stare out endlessly whilst waiting for the courses, the food definitely made it worth it. Parkheuvel remains true to it's reputation and is worth another visit in the future.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page