top of page

Tarte by Cheryl Koh, Singapore

It was my mum's birthday and I thought it'd be nice to get her some kind of pastry or cake to celebrate. Since my instagram has recently be flooded by pictures of these dainty looking tarts, I thought it'd be a nice idea to get 4 different small tarts from Tarte by Cheryl Koh, so that we could try the different flavors as well as have the one that catered to our individual tastes the most.

My mum loves berries, so I thought this one would be the perfect one for her. I got the Mixed Berries Tart. It was a tart filled with vanila cream and topped with mixed berries. This one looked very impressive and was excquisite. The vanilla cream was very light and not overly sweet and the berries were the perfect accompaniment. My mum also loved it and said I was right to choose this one for her.

My dad loves lemons, so he had the Lemon Tart. This was a nice lemon tart, but I guess my dad didn't think it was very special, since he told me he actually thought my lemon bars were just as nice. Also the lemon tart wasn't very sour, so that was disappointing.

My brother was willing to try basically anything I recommended. We couldn't really decide between the strawberry or the coffee, but considering the strawberry tart had the same filling as the mixed berry one, we decided to go for something completely different. The Coffee Tart had a somewhat creme brulee like filling, with the taste of Colombian roasted coffee clearly shining true. It was a nice tart, but I think I liked the mixed berries one better.

For myself I wanted to get the Pistachio Tart, considering pistachio is probably one of my most loved ingredients in a dessert. When I got there though, they had run out already, other customers in front of me were also asking for the pistachio, and apparently it would only be available from 5pm onwards. I was very disappointed considering the pistachio one, is one of their most raved about tarts as well as it was only 2pm, so having to wait 3 hours would be a bit too long. I don't quite understand why they don't have any stock, considering I saw a whole tray of the coffee ones on the counter (there still were quite a few in the display), so why wouldn't they ensure that their more popular flavors have more supply? I took the last mixed berries tart, and the lady behind me took the last passionfruit meringue tart. Considering that I didn't see any on the counter behind the man or in the kitchen, I do wonder how they're going to cater to the demand. Because obviously they're not doing a very good job. On a brighter note, their pate sucree was excellent and the tart dough was nice and thin and not overly sweet. A tasty little tart. I have to try the pistachio one, before I can judge if they're worth the price, since the other ones (other than the berries) didn't really convince me.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page