top of page

Dinner at No Signboard Seafood, Singapore

My aunt had asked me what I felt like eating, and since I enjoyed my last crab so much, I had asked for another crabbing feast. She recommended No Signboard Seafood, and having heard great reviews, I thought we'd give it a shot. Initially my parents didn't want to join, because my dad doesn't like to pick the crab meat out, and my mum says she's too lazy to do it. After promising, to help them pick the meat out and ordering other dishes, they reluctantly agreed to come.

The first dish we ordered, which is more of an appetizer, was the Crispy Sticky Baby Squid. It's baby squid deep fried until crisp and then tossed in this sticky, slightly sweet black sauce. This was very addicting, and was finished within no time. Admittedly it doesn't really resemble squid anymore, since the sauce was quite overpowering and it was so crispy.

The usual favorite in the family, and my dad's all-time favorite Chinese vegetable. Dou Miao with Garlic. I don't think we ever go wrong ordering this, since it always turns out so tasty. Considering how hard it is to get elsewhere, we actually ordered a second serving, since we didn't think we'd be getting it any time soon again.

They also wanted a carb fix, so Ee-fu Noodles. I'm not really a fan of this type of noodles, so I didn't really have much of it. And to be honest it really was just a plate of plain noodles, there weren't any nice ingredients to add some additional taste to it.

This is one of their signature dishes, the No Signboard Tofu - Homemade Beancurd. It was incredible how soft their tofu was. We joked around saying that it must be good for our complexion.Generally I'm not a very big fan of tofu, but I had no problems helping myself to a lot of it. The sauce was also quite addicting.

Then the star of the night came. Chilli Crab. Their rendition of the chilli crab, is considered one of the top 5 in Singapore, and it didn't disappoint. What you see on the picture is about a 800g crab. As promised I picked the meat for my parents, but since they felt that I wouldn't get the opportunity to eat any, anytime soon, they only ate a bit and left me with the rest. So basically I could say that I ate a 700g crab by myself.

Crispy fried Mantou, were also ordered so that we could soak up the sauce with it.

I was already quite full, but since the others hadn't had much of the crab, they thought: why not order another dish. So they ordered the Salted Egg Yolk Prawns. I couldn't really enjoy these since I was already quite full and the egg yolk sauce, was far too eggy for my liking.

Spotting this on the menu, I had to order it. Shanghainese Red Bean Pancake. The pastry was nice and flaky and they were quite generous with the red bean paste. It's a childhood favorite, so we tend to order it every time we see that they have it. Even though we were all very full, we still managed to find space to finish this.

After this feast, I couldn't really eat crab anymore, but I guess that was also somewhat a good thing, since I wouldn't be able to for at least the next few months. Think I will be paying them a visit the next time I get the chance.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page