top of page

Dinner at PS. Cafe (Dempsey), Singapore

I usually go to PS. Cafe only for dessert and their famous truffle fries and never really for dinner. But this time my friend and I decided to come here for dinner.

If there was one dish that I knew we must definitely order, it would be the Truffle Fries. PS. Cafe probably has one of the best ones around and looking around the restaurant you can see it on almost any table. This huge plate of shoestring fries coated in truffle oil and topped with grated parmesan is just addicting. I think it doesn't really matter how full you are, you'll probably find yourself going for another french fry. I did notice how this time the parmesan was lacking, usually there's much more. Maybe they were running out? Either way, still ORDER THIS.

For mains we went vegetarian, since my friend recently became vegetarian. Not wanting to tempt him with some seafood or meat, I decided to go with the flow. I ordered the Chargrilled Portobello, this was a salad, which consisted of caramelised onion & shiitake mushroom vinaigrette dressed greens with cherry tomatoes, sheep's milk feta & roasted nuts. It was tasty and I really enjoyed the chunks of portobello, although I did feel there was just too many salad leaves and too little mushroom, considering it was a mushroom salad after all. My friend went for the Morocco Miracle Stack (sorry the picture is quite blurry), which was roasted portobello mushroom, fresh herbs, grilled vegetables, basil parmesan & pine nut pesto, moroccan couscous and spice-infused cherry tomatoes layered with smoked eggplant & tahini puree. This was pretty impressive. The idea of couscous initially didn't sound so appealing to either of us, but surprisingly it was very tasty. Probably one of the first times I quite enjoyed couscous. My friend did note that it was kind of hard to see which dishes were vegetarian, because, unlike other restaurants, PS. doesn't tag their dishes. So we had to read over the descriptions of every item, to see if it was vegetarian or not.

We were already quite full, but we still had to go for dessert. Since I LOVE their desserts. My favorite of all time is the Banana Mango Crumble with Vanilla Ice Cream. I think I order this nearly every time I'm here, sometimes I actually come here just to have that. This is the best crumble I've tasted ever, their crumble is soft and crumbly. Everything you want a crumble to be. The banana mango filling is also perfect. I love mangos and I think bananas are just meant to be in dessert. We did find 4 cloves this time, which is probably one of the only missteps in the dessert. Their use of cloves kind of overpowers the taste of the fruit and you get this weird feeling on your tongue. This time however I also felt like the mango was overripe, and I guess they even used overripe mangos, considering I had pieces that were brown and not the bright yellow they usually are (and no it wasn't banana). Nevertheless, it's still my favorite.

My friend loves chocolate. So this cake caught his eye. It was the Chocolate Nut Doorstop. It's a chocolate cake with caramelised pecans, walnuts and almonds and a layer of French chocolate mouse, topped with malted milk chocolate balls. It really was a doorstop, as you couldn't get through the caramelized nut layer. It seriously required some hacking. The cake was nice though, especially the mousse. We kind of left the chocolate balls to one side though. Also the chocolate cake was slightly disappointing, I think it would be nicer if they use something fudgier, a brownie maybe?

Overall the food here was nice as usual. I just personally still think I just want truffle fries and dessert. The mains are passable, but nothing really special. Although I do want to try the fish and chips sometime, since those look very impressive.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page