top of page

Lunch at Hyde & Co., Singapore

I haven't seen my other cousins for quite some time, so we decided to meet up for lunch. My cousin suggested Hyde & Co. and having seen it pop up on instagram quite a bit, I thought it was a great idea.

The cafe has an extensive tea menu, offering many different types, but we didn't order any since we were more interested in their food.

We ordered their Truffle Fries with Garlic Aioli and Honey Sweet Chilli. These truffle fries were really good. The exterior of the fries was crisp whilst the inside was nice and soft. We really enjoyed these, and I would say they're on par with the ones at PS. Cafe. It was nice that there were two sauces to dip these in, but they should've given us more of the aioli, since we still had half a bucket of fries but not more aioli. We ended up ordering a second portion of these, since we really liked them.

One of the items I really wanted to try were the Pulled Pork Man Tou. These were little mantou buns (like the ones you eat when you have Chilli Crab) filled with 6-hour slow cooked pork in homemade BBQ sauce and slaw. At first we ordered 5, but then the waitress came to inform us that they were sold out. It was only 1:30pm, so I was extremely surprised. I knew that these were on their tea set that was only available at 3pm, so I inquired with the manager. He informed us that they had a portion for the tea set and a portion for ordering, and that the one for ordering was already sold out. After explaining to him that we don't live in Singapore and that this is the last opportunity for my brother to try before heading to Europe, he was so kind to give us a portion of 3. This was very kind of him and we really appreciate it. We're also very glad that I pushed through and that we were able to try, since these were very good. The pulled pork was nice and tender and the buns were the perfect vehicle to eat it in. Definitely happy bellies after this.

My one cousin got The Full Works, this consisted of baked cheese portobello, bacon, pork bockwurst, toast, tomato, roasted potatoes and scrambled eggs. This was a large plate and my cousin thought it was very good. She loved the sausage and saved it for last. She enjoyed the other items too, but I guess it wasn't that special.

Both my aunt and other cousin got the Holy Smokes, which was a toasted bagel with Norwegian smoked salmon, onions, greens and cream cheese topped with capers. They both really enjoyed it. There was quite a bit of salmon and my aunt really liked the cream cheese with capers. I guess the saltiness of the capers came through nicely. I tried a bit and I thought it was very tasty.

My brother and I decided to go for sweet and share both our dishes, since it both sounded very good. My brother ordered the Affogato Pancakes, stack of pancakes with house special espresso sauce, melted marshmellows and vanilla ice cream. I guess most people go for the waffles, but we wanted to try both and since we usually prefer pancakes, we thought this may be a good option. Although the pancakes weren't very thick they were very fluffy. The marshmellows weren't melted though, which was slightly weird. The espresso sauce worked very well though and the flavors combined were very nice. What puzzled us was that the ice cream didn't seem to melt or become soft. We waited about 10-15 minutes, before eating it, so that the ice cream was softer and we could scoop it. Maybe it was frozen in individual scoops?

I, of course, had to go for the much hyped about Butterscotch Popcorn Waffles, it was a waffle topped with homemade butterscotch, banana, popcorn, crushed nuts and vanilla ice cream. Considering my brother is allergic to walnuts, I asked them to serve it on the side, but I never actually got them, sadly enough. Just like the pancakes, the ice cream didn't melt, so that was weird. The waffle was excellent. It was the right thickness and softness on the inside. We also loved the banana to go with it. The homemade butterscotch was nice, but there simply wasn't enough on the dish. The majority of the waffle had no butterscotch, meaning that you were basically eating a plain waffle. Overall it was a very tasty dish, which we enjoyed very much. Wouldn't mind coming back for this and the truffle fries. Next time I hope there's more butterscotch though.

RECENT

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page